Scientific & Medical Commitee

Prof. José-Alain Sahel

Prof. Sahel is Professor, Université Pierre et Marie Curie, and Director of Institut de la Vision and Chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology at the Quinze-Vingts National Eye Hospital (Paris) and at the Rothschild Ophthalmology Foundation. He is also Professor at the Institute of Ophthalmology at the University College in London. He has been conducting pioneering research into the understanding of the pathological mechanisms involved in retinal cell degeneration. Prof. Sahel recently received awards from the US Foundation Fighting Blindness and the French “Académie des Sciences”, for his work on retinitis pigmentosa.

Prof. Dr Gisbert RICHARD, University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf (Germany)

Prof. Gisbert Richard has been Chairman and Head of the Department of Ophthalmology at the University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf, Germany from 1995 until 2015. Most of his research has been devoted to diagnostic and therapeutic improvements in diseases of the macula, the retina and the vitreous body. Dr Richard was a founder of Euretina, the European Society of Retina Specialists. He received ten scientific awards, including the “Internationaler GERO Wissenschaftspreis”, Schweiz, 1999.

Dr. Yannick LE MER, Fondation Adolphe de Rothschild Hospital (France)

Yannick Le Mer is a renowned retina surgeon, Head of Vitreo-retinal Unit at Fondation Adolphe de Rothschild Hospital in Paris. Prior to that, he was Assistant Professor in Centre Hospitalier National d'Ophtalmologie des Quinze-Vingts from 1989-1992 as well as Chief of Staff in the Ophthalmology Department in CHU de Montreuil. Dr Le Mer was an Ophthalmologist Consultant for the Dubai Hospital, UAE and Invited Professor in Ophthalmic Hospital Jules Gonin (Lausanne, Switzerland). He is a Member of the French Ophthalmology Society, Euretina, ASRS, Deutsche Retinologische Gesellschaft, President of Club Jules Gonin, Co-Founder and past President of CFCR.

Prof. Daniel PALANKER, Stanford University (USA)

Prof. Palanker is heading the Department of Ophthalmology and Hansen Experimental Physics laboratory at Stanford University in Palo Alto, CA. He specializes on the mechanisms of interaction of electric field and light with biological cells and tissues as well as the applications of these interactions to medicine and biology. He has contributed to the industrialization of key technologies like the PASCAL laser, the PEAK PlasmaBlade and the OCT-guided Femtosecond Laser for cataract surgery.

Prof. Amir AMEDI, The Hebrew University (Israel)

Amir Amedi is Professor at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem where he heads the Laboratory for Multisensory Research. He develops and uses cutting-edge technologies and innovative methods and techniques to study perception and multisensory relation, sensory substitution approaches and dynamics of brain processes.

Prof. Mark S. BLUMENKRANZ, Byers Eye Institute at Stanford University Medical Center (USA)

Prof. Mark Blumenkranz is Professor of Ophthalmology at the Byers Eye Institute at Stanford University Medical Center, USA. His primary areas of interest are in the diagnosis, medical and surgical treatment of vitreal retinal diseases. Prof. Blumenkranz is actively involved in translational research in the laboratory as well as technology transfer associated with that research for a variety of new therapies that have received FDA clearance and been introduced into clinical practice over the past 30 years.

Prof. E.J. CHICHILNISKY, Stanford University (USA)

E. J. Chichilnisky is Professor of Neurosurgery and Ophthalmology, in the Hansen Experimental Physics Laboratory at Stanford University. His research is focused on how the retina processes visual information and transmits this information to the brain. A key area of interest is how the cellular circuitry of the retina performs the neural computations essential for vision.

Dr. Serge PICAUD

Serge Picaud is Director of Research at the Institut de la Vision in Paris. Over the last 15 years, he has developed many cellular and animal models of different retinal diseases for assessing efficacy of neuroprotection or other therapeutic strategies. He was a founder and advisor of the biotech company Fovea, which was bought by Sanofi-Aventis to become its ophthalmological division.

Dr. Christoph POSCH, Institut de la Vision (France)

Christoph Posch is Research Professor at Université Pierre et Marie Curie and co-head of the Neuromorphic Vision and Natural Computation group at the Institut de la Vision. He has extensive experience in the design of integrated CMOS circuits for sensory systems and analog data processing, early vision and neuromorphic analog computation. Dr Posch has authored more than 80 peer-reviewed scientific publications and holds several patents in the area of artificial vision and image sensing.

Prof. Michaela VELIKAY-PAREL, Medical University Graz (Austria)

Prof. Michaela Velikay-Parel is an Associate Professor in the Department of Ophthalmology at the Medical University Graz where she has been a faculty member since 2004. Her research interests lie in the area of retinal diseases focusing on surgical therapies for retinal detachment. Since 2001 she has focused on artificial vision and she founded the Artificial Vision Center, a research laboratory to study visual function in a range that is not covered by regular ophthalmologic tests. Prof. Velikay-Parel is recipient of eight major research grants and fellowships at Bascom Palmer Eye Institute, Ophthalmic Biophysics Center, Miami, USA

Dr. George A. WILLIAMS, Beaumont Eye Institute (USA)

George A. Williams, M.D. is Chair, Department of Ophthalmology, Director of the Beaumont Eye Institute and Vice Chief of Surgical Services for Academic Affairs at William Beaumont Hospital in Royal Oak, Michigan, USA. He is also Professor and Chair of Ophthalmology at the Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine and a partner with Associated Retinal Consultants. Dr Williams is an associate examiner for the American Board of Ophthalmology and a member of The Retina Society, The Macula Society, the American Society of Retina Specialists, the Association of University Professors in Ophthalmology and the Club Jules Gonin.